Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal? An Easy Guide

Published Categorized as Guide

Hey! This site is reader-supported and we earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from our site.

Wondering whether your favourite gummy bears are halal? Gummy bears are a favourite amongst many jelly sweet lovers. But when following a certain diet plan, that prohibits the consumption of a variety of ingredients, then this can be pretty challenging. Many of us who follow a halal diet avoid certain candy brands like Haribo’s that have been manufactured in certain countries, mainly because we know of the ingredients that are used to make them, for instance gelatine.

Table of Contents

A Bit About Haribo Gummy Bears

Haribo has produced fruity gummies for many many years, with a variety of gelling agents resulting in a different consistency, so that each type of Haribo gummy sweets are incredibly chewy and flavourful, just like their packaging promises. Many Haribo lovers, particularly appreciate the consistency of the gummy sweets that contain lots of gelatine, and are not too keen on there being any sort of changes whatsoever.

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

When trying to figure out if Haribo gummy bears are halal, then you might feel more comfortable knowing that there are halal certified Haribo gummy bears, meaning that they’ll have a sticker on the packaging indicating that its halal. If it’s not halal certified then check the gelatine source by checking the packet of the Haribo USA packaging. A clear indication of Haribo being halal would be a “product of Turkey” or “made in Turkey” written on the packaging.

On the other hand, if the Haribo gummy bears use gelatine sourced from pork then it is 100% not halal. But if it it extracted from beef then it might be classified as halal.

What Makes Products Halal?

Products like gummy sweets can only be deemed halal when we know the source of the gelatine that has been used in its ingredients. For instance, whether the gelatine is from pork or beef. Pork is considered a type of forbidden animal for Muslims to consume in Islam, therefore it is haram.

However, animals like beef are halal, providing that they had been fed the correct foods, and have been slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.

What is Gelatine Made of?

Gelatine is made from decaying animal hides, boiled crushed bones, and the connective tissue of cattle and pigs. The animal bones, skins and tissues are taken from slaughter houses. So determining whether the tissue that had been collected from a slaughtered cow, is halal or not would essentially become an unsolved mystery.

What Type of Gelatine is Used in Haribo Gummy Bears?

Gummy bears are made from sugar, glucose syrup, corn syrup, gelatine and flavouring colours, with gelatine being the key substance used in making gummy bears.

Although the majority of ingredients in Haribo gummy candies are plant-based, gelatine is an active ingredient in these gummy sweets, that many people enjoy the tough texture that is obtained from it. Gelatine is made by boiling animal skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones with water.

Is Haribo Made in Germany Halal?

Haribo gummy bears purchased from the USA are only considered halal if the packaging states that it is made in Turkey. Consequently, if the packaging reveals that the gummy bears were made in Germany, the UK, Austria, Spain, Brazil and France then it is not halal.

Are Haribo GoldBears Halal?

Haribo GoldBears have been branded with the halal stamp of approval. Those following a halal diet can comfortably pluck out the Haribo GoldBears from your local supermarket, and enjoy them happily, knowing that there is no need to analyse the ingredients since it is halal certified. Though there are some who happen to harbour some natural curiosity towards the ingredients used in these sweets, so we have listed them below:

  • Sugars
  • Gelatine
  • Fruit juices from concentrate i.e. apple, raspberry, strawberry, orange, lemon, and pineapple (all from concentrate)
  • Citric acid
  • Water
  • Fruit and plant concentrates (carrot, apple, radish, spirulina, paprika, hibiscus, blackcurrant, and tomato)
  • Artificial flavours
  • Beeswax
  • Carnauba wax
  • May contain traces of milk or wheat

The only questionable ingredient on this list would be gelatine, as the rest of the substances are considered halal.

Which Haribo are Halal?

When unsure whether a certain product is halal, then many would opt for the products that are suitable for vegans, or vegetarians. This is mainly due to the fact that they don’t contain animal products, but they are still able to contain alcohol, which is strictly forbidden in Islam.

Essentially, Haribo sweets cannot be considered vegan if they contain beeswax or gelatine. Similarly, we cannot be certain that Haribo sweets are halal unless they are made in Turkey, have a halal sticker on the packaging, and contain no gelatine or beef gelatine.

Take a look at the list of halal Haribo sweets below:

  • Haribo Croco
  • Haribo Gold Bears
  • Haribo Happy Cherries
  • Haribo Happy Cola
  • Haribo Sour Happy Cola
  • Haribo Phantasia
  • Haribo Worms
  • Haribo Chamallows

Haribo Croco

These fruity flavoured foam treats shaped like a crocodile are super tasty and sweeter than ever. Not only will they satiate your sweet tooth, but they contain no questionable ingredients whatsoever, the clear indication being the halal stamp of approval, displayed on the front of the packaging.

Haribo Gold Bears

The typical favourite amongst many Haribo lovers, is the classic gummy bears. They come in 5 delicious fruity flavours, each in its own splash of colour, from greens to reds and yellows, they really are a fun snack to have.

Haribo Happy Cherries

These joyous cherries are a product of happiness, as their name suggests. These jelly cherries are free of pig gelatine and other non-halal ingredients that would steer most people away.

Haribo Happy Cola

A common favourite amongst many, are these candied cola bottles. A tasteful treat encased in a packet of halal Haribo sweets that are a great treat to have beside your bed when you’re feeling particularly peckish whilst watching your favourite show.

Haribo Sour Happy Cola

For our sour sweet lovers, a sour version of cola bottles that are particularly addicting. These sugar clad sweets are a favourite amongst many pick n mix sweet shops, particularly in the UK, so another great addition to this list.


Phantastia is yet another packet fill with fantastic fruit-flavoured jellies, that are widely available in many stores. These feel like cool gel against your teeth, crushing into fun bits of jellies when you chew excitedly. Perfect for adding to party bags.

Haribo Worms

Almost impossible to bite, but once you manage to sink your teeth into the tough jelly, there’s no going back. Void of any haram ingredients, these make a great candidate for any pick n mix.

Haribo Chamallows

Soft, plush pillows of divine deliciousness. These Haribo Chamallows have a unique, yet pleasant texture, that simply melts in your mouth. You can toast them, or add them to a warm cup of hot chocolate for the best experience.

So is Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?

The easiest way to determine whether Haribo Gummy Bears are halal is through the packaging. Check that there is a halal label, if not then pay attention to where it’s made from. If it says “made in Turkey” then it is halal, if it has been made in Brazil, France, Austria, the UK, Germany and Spain, then it is haram.


Is Haribo Halal or Haram?

Haribo halal has been awarded a halal certificate, allowing the packaging to display its sticker, indicating that it is halal. However, the Haribo sweets that do not have a halal sticker are not considered halal. Another indication would be the ingredients written on the bottom of the packaging, that will show whether the gelatine has been extracted from pork or beef.

Do Haribo Gummy Bears Have Pork?

Most Haribo sweets contain pork gelatine which isn’t halal, but the ones that do not contain gelatine are considered halal.

Categorized as Guide