Hey! This site is reader-supported and we earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from our site.

Wondering if Doritos are halal? There’s something about ripping open a bag of Doritos that is both exciting and comforting, especially when it’s done in front of the telly, with your favourite movie playing. Whether you prefer the blue or red packet, there’s no denying the cheesy, fiery deliciousness that has you dipping your hand back into the packet, feeling around for more. If you’re slightly concerned about the ingredients in Doritos; let’s take a closer look at them.

What Does Halal Mean?

Halal is the Arabic term that translates to permissible. Halal food is that which adheres to Islamic law. The Islamic form of slaughtering animals or poultry, involves killing through a sharp cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery and windpipe. Animals must be alive and healthy during the slaughter, and all the blood drained from the carcass. During this process a Muslim will recite a small prayer known as tasmiya or shahada.

What Does Haram Mean?

The opposite of Halal is Haram, so animals that have not been killed using the name of God, or foods that contain haram ingredients such as pork, or blood. Certain actions can be considered haram as well, like the consumption of alcohol or any form of intoxication.

Are Doritos Halal in the USA?

According to PepsiCo’s Consumer Relations Representative, not all Doritos Chips are halal. This is because they contain animal enzymes, including both the Doritos Bold BBQ and Doritos Sweet Chilli Heat.

What Are The Basic Ingredients Found in Doritos?

The ingredients found in Doritos can include natural and artificial flavours, cornflour, onion powder, whey protein concentrate, an assortment of enzymes, salt, cheese cultures, part-skim cow’s milk, Romano cheese, buttermilk, Monosodium, Glutamate, whey, cheddar cheese, corn-derived Maltodextrin corn, and vegetable oil.

Why Are Doritos Not Halal?

The main reason why Doritos are not halal is because they are made from pigs or pork, which is considered haram in Islam. The other reason is that the seasoning’s, spice mix or seasoning that has been used when making Doritos is considered forbidden in this instance.

According to Islamic law, it is not allowed to use spices or seasonings that were used on haram animals, unless the spices or seasonings are made out of foods and ingredients that do not contain any haram animals, such as onions and garlic.

Is There Pork in Doritos?

Doritos are made from pork fat and other ingredients that include flavours of the animal. The seasonings in the Doritos mix is made from animal by-products including pigs and their meat. It also contains gelatine, which is obtained from cow bones, and whilst cows are not considered haram, the method of slaughtering the animal is what determines whether it is halal or not. These ingredients are used to give spicy flavourings to the crisps, which make them have their hot flavour.

Are Red Doritos Halal?

Probably the most delicious of the many flavoured Doritos sitting on the shelves of the supermarket is the red-flavoured nacho cheese. Unfortunately these Doritos are not considered halal, as the cheese in the ranch-flavoured Doritos is extracted from animals that is strictly forbidden in Islam, therefore disallowing Muslims from eating this flavour.

Are Blue Doritos Halal?

If you’re struggling to isolate the halal Doritos from the haram Doritos, you might want to take a look at the ingredients for a better understanding. Both Doritos cool ranch, and Doritos nacho cheese are amongst the most popular flavoured Doritos, but are also completely non-vegan, meaning that anyone acquiring a halal diet cannot eat these flavours.

Are Purple Doritos Halal?

Many might be pleased to know that purple Doritos (spicy sweet chill) contain no elements of animals in their ingredients, therefore permissible for Muslims to eat.

Do Doritos Contain Rennet?

Not all Doritos are halal because they contain animal enzymes. Animal enzymes also known as animal rennet, is an enzyme used to prepare cheese by curdling milk. Rennet is extracted by the stomach of a calf, or an animal. And since Doritos nacho cheese, and cool ranch contain lots of cheese it’s quite clear why they’re not considered halal.

Whilst animals like cows and calves are considered halal, what makes them permissible to eat is the way they were slaughtered. Unless an Islamic prayer has been recited, followed by a Muslim slaughtering the animal, the meat is not considered halal.

Rennet can be extracted from cattle or pigs, so pay attention to the source of animal enzyme listed in the ingredients. If there is none listed then it is halal.

Are Doritos That Contain Ethanol Halal?

Doritos Chilli Heatwave flavour found in the UK, is considered halal, despite the ethanol used in its ingredients. Traces of ethanol are used in many food products as a flavour enhancer. Many Islamic scholars agree that anything below 0.1% of ethanol is considered halal.

Are Doritos Halal?

A common question is whether Doritos Nacho Cheese flavoured tortilla chips are halal, and the short answer is no. This is primarily because the ingredients used to make these crisps are not halal. The products are made on the same line where animal derived ingredients – pork – are manufactured. The natural and artificial flavours used in Doritos are not halal.

What To Look Out For When Buying Halal Snacks?

Whether you’re a vegan, vegetarian or Muslim, there’s no doubt the familiarity you feel when seeing someone reading the back of a snacks packaging, The list of ingredients at the back of the product are sometimes a clear indication in whether they would be going home with you or not. If you’re trying to find out whether certain food products are halal at the supermarket, then look for the vegan or vegetarian sign.

This is normally a clear indication that you’re safe to take that particular product home. That’s because vegans do not consume animal products. But make sure that there is no forms of alcohol in the ingredients, as being vegan does not mean that alcohol is exempt from vegan friendly products.

So Are Doritos Halal?

Doritos are not considered halal because they contain animal enzymes, or animal rennet, which is mainly derived from pork. And if you’re following a strict halal diet, then these ingredients are strictly forbidden, or considered haram.

FAQ’s

Is Haribo Halal or Haram?

The classic Haribo from a regular supermarket contains pork gelatine and is therefore not halal.

Do Haribo Gummy Bears Have Pork?

Haribo Gummy Bears brought in the US are only considered halal if the packaging states that they are made in Turkey.