Hey! This site is reader-supported and we earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from our site.

Red bull is a popular energy drink, and whilst lots of people like to start their mornings with a lovely steaming cup of coffee, whilst others prefer a quick trip to the fridge, grabbing their favourite energy drink, and sprinting off to start the day. Of these energy drinks, red bull is the majorly preferred option, and some of you may be wondering if red bull is halal, due to the ingredients, which means that the drink can contain traces of alcohol, or taurine.

What is Taurine?

Taurine is an amino acid naturally found in meat, fish, dairy products and human milk, and its also available as a dietary supplement. Some research suggests that taurine supplementation could improve athletic performance, putting this in a drink allows you to boost your energy levels throughout the day.

Is Taurine Halal?

The basic principle of halal and haram is whether the taurine ingredients were extracted from halal objects then it’s considered halal. For instance, if its basic source is meat like beef, then as long as the animal was slaughtered in the Islamic way, it is considered halal.

Halal vs Haram

Halal is an Arabic word which means lawful or permissible, this doesn’t just refer to things a Muslim can eat; rather encompasses everything lawful in a Muslim’s life. Nevertheless you’d often hear of its utterance in reference to food.

Haram is the Arabic word that means something is prohibited or unlawful, whether that is in reference to food, or certain activities.

Is Red Bull Halal?

Red bull is halal to consume because it does not contain any haram ingredients like pork, or alcohol. There are no traces of animals used in the drink whatsoever, plus the taurine is produced synthetically by pharmaceutical companies. Red bull is also suitable for vegetarians because the energy drink uses only non-animal ingredients to cater to all sorts of diets for their consumers.

Halal Red Bull

  • Red Bull Original
  • Red Bull Sugar Free
  • Red Bull Zero Calories
  • Red Bull Orange Edition
  • Red Bull Orange Edition Sugar-Free
  • Red Bull Tropical Edition
  • Red Bull Tropical Edition Sugar-Free
  • Red Bull Coconut Edition

What’s Actually In Red Bull?

Of all the kinds of energy drinks on the market, Red bull is by far the most popular. You may doubt whether most energy drinks are halal for you to consume, but you can safely drink Red Bull knowing that it is! Red Bull is consumed by almost everyone, from working mums to college students. With its instantaneous buzz that keeps you energised throughout the day, some of you may be wondering what exactly lies in these drinks. What miraculous elements have been used, to successfully force a person into deliberate action? We’ve gone to work and had a successful day – Why?

Red Bull is a mix of sugar, synthetic caffeine, taurine, and several B vitamins, all of which are well-known for their energy stimulating qualities. Try taking a closer look at some of the powerful ingredients, which are listed on the back of the can:

  • Carbonated water
  • Sucrose, Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Magnesium Carbonate
  • Caffeine
  • Niacinamide
  • Calcium Pantothenate
  • Pyridoxine HCI
  • Vitamin B12
  • Natural and Artificial Flavours
  • Colours

Lets take a closer look at some of these ingredients.

Glucose and Sucrose

Red Bull has 27 grams of sugar per can, which is a little less than most fizzy drinks, but let’s not ignore the fact that there is still a fair amount of sugar within one can of this energy drink.

Taurine

Taurine is an amino acid that is naturally produced in the human body; found in the lower intestine it is a major component of bile. Taurine is an antioxidant that helps to move minerals through the system and generate never impulses. Each can of Red Bull contains 1000mg taurine, and is generally considered safe to consume.

Caffeine

Red Bull contains 80mg of caffeine, which is about the same as a cup of coffee, having great mental and physical stimulating benefits. The caffeine works by blocking a sleep-promoting brain chemical, which forces your body to release adrenaline.

Why Would Red Bull Be Considered as Haram?

Substances that are harmful to ones body, either immediately or through continuous consumption is what makes them haram. Because Islam encourages Muslims to take care of their bodies, hence why there are certain foods and activities that are prohibited. Because of its nature to force a person into an energetic state, some people may think that the Red Bull energy drink could be haram, as one could become quite dependant on it, once they realise the powerfulness held in this pink drink.

So Is Red Bull Halal?

The short answer is yes, it is halal, as there are no prohibited substances used within the drink for it to be haram. Much like the energising effects a morning coffee would provide you with, this energy drink is a little can of adrenaline, perfect for those long weekdays ahead.

FAQ’s

Is There Alcohol In Red Bull?

Red Bull energy drink is a non-alcoholic beverage, there is no indication that Red Bull has elements of alcohol within its ingredients.

Does Red Bull Have Pork In It?

Red Bull energy drink only uses non-animal ingredients, so no there is no traces of pork in this drink.