Hey! This site is reader-supported and we earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from our site.

If you’re specifically concerned about the ingredients in your favourite sweets or candy like trolli, and want to find out if its halal, then naturally you’d look to the back of the packaging for some clues. Gelatine is a common element in sticky or gummy sweets, and you’d have to know what type of meat the gelatine was obtained from before you can put the contents of the packet into your mouth.

What is Trolli?

Trolli is a type of candy sold worldwide and in many forms. There are gummies, marshmallows, gummy worms, and even soft liquorice gums. Trolli products also include: original, sour, soft, extra fruity, gelatine-free, gluten, vegetarian, lactose-free, and halal products.

What Is Gelatine?

Gelatine is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. Gelatine isn’t in no way limited to food products, you can find it in shampoo, face masks and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatines and puddings like jelly. It can be added to candies like marshmallows, cakes, ice creams, and yoghurts; on photographic film and in vitamins as a coating; in capsules.

Does Trolli Have Gelatine?

We are all accustomed to the delightful chewiness that comes with our favourite gummies, and when it comes to products like trolli, in order to perfect that chewiness – trolli use exclusively high quality gelatine, obtained from selected pork rind or beef hide. Trolli gummy worms are not vegan, as they use animal gelatine which comes from breaking down animal tissue like horns, fat, bones and skin.

Is Gelatine Halal or Not?

Gelatine is the most studied halal ingredient because of its vast use in pharmaceutical and food products. Gelatine is a hydrocolloid with unique properties and can function as a gelling, thickener, foaming agent, plasticiser, texture and binding agent.

Is Trolli Halal?

Trolli candy is not halal-certified because the chances of the gelatine used in the candy being halal are slim. While it can be derived from beef, we would not know if the animal used to get the gelatine from, was slaughtered according to the Islamic law. The only way that you can feel confident in eating sweets or gummies that contain beef gelatine, is when you’re certain that the animal had been slaughtered in a halal way.

Do Vegetarians Eat Gelatine?

Gelatine is a protein obtained by boiling the skin, ligaments, and/or bones of animals in water, which is why gelatine cannot be eaten by vegetarians, vegans or those following a strict halal diet. However in order for individuals who cannot eat gelatine obtained from animals there is a product called “agar” that can sometimes be marketed as “gelatine” but it is vegan, and is derived from a type of seaweed.

What Is Trolli Made of?

Before you plan to put any type of food or snack in your mouth it’s always best to understand the ingredients present in that particular meal. Similarly with gummies and sweets, especially if you’re following a strict vegan, vegetarian, halal diet, or even if you have allergies, its always safe to check what’s involved before allowing the contents to enter your mouth and take residence in your stomach for the next few hours. Trolli is made of: corn syrup, gelatine, modified corn starch, fumaric acid, lactic acid, citric acid, sodium citrate, calcium lactate, natural and artificial flavours, titanium dioxide which is a form of colouring, yellow 5, red 40, yellow 6, blue 1.

Are Trolli Peach Rings Halal?

There is some debate on whether the sweets that contain beef gelatine is considered halal or not. Some Muslims allow the consumption of sweets or other food products that contain beef gelatine as it is a type of meat that is permissible in Islam, providing that it has been slaughtered according to the Islamic law – it really depends on how strict you’re willing to be, and the strength of your own restrictions. The ingredients found in trolli peach rings include: glucose sugar, sugar, starch, beef gelatine, citric acid, tartaric acid, natural identical flavour (peach), colours (E102, E104, E110, E129) but it is halal certified.

Do All Gummy Sweets Include Gelatine?

Just like trolli gummy worms, most other gummy sweets contain gelatine, it is the gelatine that provides that perfected texture and mouth feel. The best way to enjoy vegan or halal gummy worms is to look for the right ingredients.

The most common way to make gelatine is by taking the bones, connective tissue, and even the horns of animals; boiling them in water for hours making them completely inedible for vegans.

Halal or Not?

In short trolli sweets are not halal, unless they are stamped with the stamp of approval, which means that they are halal certified. Following a strict diet would mean that you would have to naturally restrict yourself from eating certain foods, and whilst one brand might not be halal, then another can make a similar product with halal ingredients. Thankfully though, there are a few trolli sweets or candies in gummy form that are halal so that all can enjoy!

FAQ’s

Does Trolli Have Halal Gelatine?

The range of trolli products include: Original, soft, sour, liquorice, extra fruity, marshmallows, gelatine-free, gluten, vegetarian, lactose free, and halal products. So you’re choices are not limited, you can always go for the vegetarian sweets, providing that there is no alcohol present in the ingredients.

Is The Gelatine in Trolli Pork?

Most of the trolli gummies, and candies containing elements that are obtained from beef or pork rind.

Which Trolli Candies Are Halal?

Fortunately there are some trolli products that are halal certified, these include: Sour glowworms, PeachO’s, Classic bears, Sour cola bottles, Peach hearts, Orange slices, Gummi bears, and Gummi fruit salad.

Are Trolli Gummy Burgers Halal?

There are a few trolli gummy burgers that are halal certified and these are: Captain fruit marshmallows, Apple strawberry jelly candy, and Campfire gummy burger.